Longmont Museum & Cultural Center
400 Quail Road
Longmont, CO 80501
Click here for directions to the Museum.
Monday - Saturday 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Sunday 1 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Special Exhibit admission fees: $5 adults, $3 students/seniors (62+). Children five and under are free.
Admission is free for our history exhibits.
The Longmont Museum was founded in 1936. In 1940, the first exhibits opened to the public in the carriage
house at the Callahan House. The Museum outgrew that space, and, in 1954,
moved to the basement of the Memorial Building in Roosevelt Park.
The Museum became more officially structured with the in corporation of the Longmont
Museum, Inc., on October 4, 1961.
In 1970, the Museum changed from a private, nonprofit organization to a department
of the City of Longmont. Shortly after that, the Museum moved again, this
time to a converted Sorenson garage at 3rd and Kimbark. The new space opened
its doors on September 13, 1970. In 1973, the garage was torn down and the
Museum moved to a converted City warehouse and garage at 375 Kimbark Street.
In November 1999, Longmont voters approved $5 million in a bond issue to
build a newmuseum and cultural center. The bond issue was approved by over
77 percent of voters. The Longmont Museum & Cultural Center was further
enhanced by an anonymous $1 million gift. Now located at 400 Quail Road, just
east of Main Street in south Longmont, the Longmont Museum & Cultural
Center invites visitors to come and see our regularly changing exhibits, experience our education
programs, and enjoy the views from our Longs Peak Room tower.