Department Contact
Back to our Homepage
Navigation Bar Skip Navigation City Council Contact Us Search City Government

On The Side

More Information

 

About the Museum
 

LOCATION

Longmont Museum & Cultural Center
400 Quail Road
Longmont, CO 80501
Phone: 303.651.8374
FAX: 303.774.4780

Click here for directions to the Museum.

REGULAR HOURS

Monday - Saturday 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Sunday 1 p.m. - 5 p.m.

ADMISSION FEES


Special Exhibit admission fees: $5 adults, $3 students/seniors (62+). Children three and under are free.

Admission is free for our history exhibits.

EntranceHISTORY

The Longmont Museum was founded in 1936. In 1940, the first exhibits opened to the public in the carriage house at the Callahan House. The Museum outgrew that space, and, in 1954, moved to the basement of the Memorial Building in Roosevelt Park.

The Museum became more officially structured with the in corporation of the Longmont Museum, Inc., on October 4, 1961.

In 1970, the Museum changed from a private, nonprofit organization to a department of the City of Longmont. Shortly after that, the Museum moved again, this time to a converted Sorenson garage at 3rd and Kimbark. The new space opened its doors on September 13, 1970. In 1973, the garage was torn down and the Museum moved to a converted City warehouse and garage at 375 Kimbark Street.

In November 1999, Longmont voters approved $5 million in a bond issue to build a newmuseum and cultural center. The bond issue was approved by over 77 percent of voters. The Longmont Museum & Cultural Center was further enhanced by an anonymous $1 million gift. Now located at 400 Quail Road, just east of Main Street in south Longmont, the Longmont Museum & Cultural Center invites visitors to come and see our regularly changing exhibits, experience our education programs, and enjoy the views from our Longs Peak Room tower.


-->